Home | Site Map | Contact
Directions | Member Login
Girls & Women in Sport

February 1, 2019, is the Massachusetts Celebration of National Girls and Women and Sports Day (GWS), a day that recognizes the positive influence of sports participation on the lives of girls and women, and the continuing struggle for equality and access for women in sports.

Keynote Speaker will be Karissa Niehoff, Executive Director, National Federation of State High School Associations.


Check to see if your school is registered

Massachusetts Women in Athletics Distinguished Service Award
Winners 2019

The MIAA and the New Agenda: Northeast are pleased to announce the 2019 recipients of the award:

JoAnne Lee-Nieves, Coach (Volleyball, Softball, Basketball)
Jeremiah E. Burke High School, Dorchester

Sherry Webb, Teacher, Coach, Athletic Director (Retired), Mentor, Volunteer
Smith Academy, Hatfield

Shelly Zalneraitis, Varsity Field Hockey Coach
Quabbin Regional High School, Barre

The awards will be conferred at the Massachusetts Celebration of Girls and Women in Sports Day at Faneuil Hall on February 1, 2019.

JoAnne Lee-Nieves - Jeremiah E. Burke High School
Sherry Webb - Smith Academy
Shelly Zalneraitis
- Quabbin Regional High School

Ruth Beaton - Pentucket Regional High School
Denise Carrara - East Bridgewater High School
Kim Huffer - Chelsea Public Schools
Lisa Keene - Peabody Veterans Memorial High School

Pamela Alvarez - Bristol County Agricultural High School
Bobbie Finn - Notre Dame Academy (Hingham)
Eleanor E. Petrovick
- Foxborough High School
Linda Zacchilli - Milford High School

Elizabeth Haygood - Amherst Regional High School
Terry Riley - Assabet Valley Regional Technical High School
Pat Ruggiero - Melrose High School
Judy Schneider - Hanover High School

Mary Ryan - Rockport Middle/High School
Mary Lou Thimas - Coach, Administrator, Official and Women's Sports Advocate
Tanya Sullivan - Middleborough High School

Marge Bohan - Dedham High School
Sarah Greeley - Lincoln-Sudbury Regional High School
Deb Roussell - Maynard High School

Ann Simons - Holyoke High School
Tara Morano - Middleborough High School
Mary Burke - Medway High School

Vicky Caburian - Lincoln-Sudbury Regional High School
Melanie Martin - Holyoke High School

Dara Johnson - Dover-Sherborn High School
Theresa Smith - Plymouth North and Plymouth South High Schools
Kathy Swain - Norfolk County Agricultural High School
Kathleen Thompson - Wayland High School

Sue Dean Ames - Framingham High School
Lynne Geiger - East Longmeadow High School
Debra Riggott - Waltham High School
Janet Sullivan - Stoughton High School

2009 (MWADSA)

Jean Fedak - Algonquin Regional High School
Molly Foster - Peabody Veterans Memorial High School

2008 (MWADSA)

Pat Coniff - West Bridgewater M/S High School
Elizabeth Grady - Natick High School
Mim Jarema - Reading Memorial High School
Patricia Morano - Mashpee High School

2007 (MWADSA)

Sharon Dupre - Blackstone-Millville Regional High School
Karen Grezesik - Ralph C. Mahar Regional High School
Gladys Perez-Byrd - Madison Park Technical/Vocational High School

2006 (MWADSA)

Donna Brickley - Notre Dame Academy (Hingham)
Amy Heath - Newburyport High School
Karen McCarthy - Avon Middle/High School
Brenda Sullivan - Maynard High School

2005 (MWADSA)

Elizabeth Knight - Martha’s Vineyard Regional High School
Elaine Wasylow - Bristol-Plymouth Regional Vocational Technical High School
Nancy Williams - Chelmsford High School
Lisa Zappala - Academy of Notre Dame (Tyngsboro)

2004 (MWADSA)

Virginia Slagle - Lynnfield High School
Susan Moss - Whitman-Hanson Regional High School
Kathy Brosnahan - Douglas High School
Angelina Chilaka - Harwich High School

2003 (Unsung Heroine)

Mary Kelleher
Nancy Martens - Official
Mary Ellen Hasenfuss - Medway High School
Chris Brown - Wayland High School

2002 (Unsung Heroine)

Marge Bohan - Dedham High School
Barbara Damon - Danvers High School
Katharina Decas - Sharon High School
Nancy Mowry - Bishop Feehan High School
Yvonne Van Goor - Triton Regional High School

2001 (Unsung Heroine)

Beth Ahern - Plymouth
Lorraine Benoit -Peabody
Patricia I. Brown - Winthrop
Dorothy Houston - Williamstown
Verna Mulready - Weymouth
Carol Ryan - Worcester
Janet Cassidy Wood - Wilmington

2000 (Unsung Heroine)

Sandy Curt - Lexington
Nancy Healy - Weston
Rose Naples - Nauset
Margaret O’Leary - Beverly
Joan Pacheco - Rockland
Cynthia Tozzi - Hingham

1999 (Unsung Heroine)

Mary Anne Clougher - Dedham
Midge Durgin - Hingham
Sandy Lezon - Salem
Pat McGee - Winthrop
Ruth M. “Penny” Pension - Lynn
Lisa Reynolds - Wakefield
Joan Rosazza - Winchester

1998 (Unsung Heroine)

Susan Leddy - Raynham
Laurie Hill - Mansfield
Kathleen McSweeney - Agawam

1997 (Unsung Heroine)

Judy Corwin - Lincoln-Sudbury Regional High School
Janice Dolan - Winchester HS
Cynthia Cuthbertson - Apponequet Regional High School
Marilyn Fitzgerald - Andover
Diane Jackson - Mansfield High School
Sally Johnson - Gardner
Jody McManus - Shepherd Hill Regional High School
Karen Olander - Osterville
Cheryl Palm - Minnechaug Regional High School





Title IX of the Education Amendments of 1972 is a United States law, enacted on June 23, 1972 that states,

"No person in the United States shall, on the basis of sex, be excluded from participation in, be denied the benefits of, or be subjected to discrimination under any education program or activity receiving Federal financial assistance..."

To further educate yourself on Title IX, please visit the Women's Sport Foundation

please watch for updated information

Want more information? Contact us today!

Copyright 2011 MIAA and its licensors.  All rights reserved.

33 Forge Parkway
Franklin, MA 02038

(p) 508-541-7997
(f) 508-541-9838

miaa AT miaa DOT net

Powered by allofe
AllofE Solutions