Home | Site Map | Contact
Directions | Member Login
Community Service

Student Ambassador Challenges
on the Student Ambassador Page (top right)

MIAA Educational Athletics Banner Opportunity

Educational Athletics Newsletter

Educational Athletics Committee

If you have photos of your student-athletes performing community services, please email the files with a caption to studentservices AT miaa DOT net.

MIAA Community Service Awards are presented in the following categories:

  • Individual
  • Team
  • Class, Club or Organization

For student-athletes, participation in interscholastic athletics is a privilege which comes with great responsibilities. Among these responsibilities is showing respect for opportunities granted and providing service so that others can experience the same opportunities. Giving back to the community is what makes student-athletes heroes in the eyes of those who look up to them.

MIAA member school administrators are encouraged to take advantage of the incredibly strong power of influence that each of their coaches, captains and student-athletes share to help build stronger communities by giving back and proving that helping hands make a huge difference. As the efforts of the MIAA to promote community service continue to grow, so do the hopes and expectations that member school leaders and high school coaches will take the initiative to start their own service projects within their communities to help build atmospheres of respect and camaraderie.

Individual Category
Mackenzie Anderson- Foxborough High School

Club/Organization Category
Skills USA Program – Lynn Vocational Technical Institute

Team Category
Boys Ice Hockey- Minnechaug Regional High School

Community Service Award Recipient Overview

MIAA Ron Burton Award
Peter Frates -Ice Bucket Challenge Founder/Boston College Baseball


Individual Finalists:

Michael Bourque- Fitchburg High School
Callie Hoadley- Hanover High School
Charles Kiernan- Monomoy Regional High School
Maeve McNamara and Margaret Paul- Sturgis Charter School East Campus
Sarah Murphy- St. Joseph Preparatory High School
Greta Nelson- Sturgis Charter Public School
Conor O'Neil- Duxbury High School
Anthony Pajak- Dartmouth High School
Caitlin Yannizzi- Rockland High School

Finalists Overview


Team Finalists:

Bishop Feehan High School- Girls Lacrosse
Boston Latin School- Girls Ice Hockey
Ludlow High School- Boys and Girls Cross Country
Sharon High School- Girls Basketball
Swampscott High School- Girls Soccer
Tewksbury Memorial High School- Girls Volleyball

Community Service Award Team Finalists Overview

Club/Organization Finalists:

Billerica Memorial High School- "Us Against Cancer"
Franklin High School- Peer Leaders
Lenox Memorial Middle and High School- Crew
Lowell High School- Educational Athletics Program
Milford High School- Hawk Nation
South Hadley High School- Alternative Education Students and Sports Teams
Stoughton High School- Fall Sports Teams

Community Service Award Club/Organization Finalists Overview

Copyright 2011 MIAA and its licensors.  All rights reserved.

33 Forge Parkway
Franklin, MA 02038

(p) 508-541-7997
(f) 508-541-9838

miaa AT miaa DOT net

Powered by allofe
AllofE Solutions