Home | Site Map | Contact
Directions | Member Login

Fall practice may begin as early as the second Thursday preceding Labor Day (i.e., August 23, 2018). No team may have more than 10 single practice sessions (i.e., "double sessions" count as two single practice sessions), through and including the Friday prior to Labor Day.

The Winter season must not begin before the first Monday after Thanksgiving.

The Spring season must not begin before the third Monday in March.

The MIAA will be partnering with Direct Athletics for all on-line entries in Cross Country, Indoor, and Outdoor Track. This process is currently being used by the MA State Track Coaches Association (MSTCA) for all meets and has worked well.

Please also see the User Guide & Help that is part of the Direct Athletics website for additional assistance and information.


A Pole Vault Safety Certification

  • ALL new Coaches
  • Any coach that has been previously certified prior to 2011, will have to recertify by taking the NFHS course offered online

Or you can register for and take: 

Pole Vault Certification Course
Friday, TBD - 4pm-5:45pm
at the Royal Plaza Best Western Hotel

Any coach who is listed on Certified coaches from 2011 and prior needs take the NFHS Online Pole Vault Safety Course.  Please send a copy/proof of completion to TBD and will update certification.  Must be completed by start of the outdoor season.

See NFHS Rule 6 - Editor's Note: Effective with the Spring '07 season, all references and diagrams will reflect one standard sector at 34.92 degrees in the shot put and discus.

Click here for more information

  • The throwing area MUST be roped off and clearly marked.
  • Injuries are most common during warm-ups. A certified official should run warm-ups. The throwing sector should be open to groups of throwers and then closed while javelins are retrieved. Once the sector is clear it can be opened for further warm-up throws.
View more...


This is a FREE NFHS online course

The NFHS strongly encourages our interscholastic coaches, student vaulters and their parents to complete this free course.

The dates listed below are tentative & are being posted for planning purposes only. Please check the MIAA website (Tournament Formats) as the dates become closer for any and all updates.

View more...

Congratulations to the recipients of the MIAA 2018 Cross-Country Sportsmanship Award:

  • Dennis-Yarmouth Regional High School - Girls East Division
  • Foxborough High School - East Division IV
  • Belchertown High School - Boys West Division I
  • Hampshire Regional Middle/High School -  Boys Cross West Division II
  •  Advanced Math & Science Academy - Girls Central Division II

Congratulations to the recipients of the 2018-19 MIAA/MSTCA Indoor Track Sportsmanship Award:


Joan Doherty Team Sportsmanship Award for Girls Indoor Track

Division I
Lexington High School

Division IV
Dennis-Yarmouth Regional High School

Ralph Lord Team Sportsmanship Award for Boys Indoor Track



Congratulations to the recipient of the 2018 MIAA/MSTCA Chris Lane Girls Outdoor Track Team Sportsmanship Award:

 Dennis-Yarmouth Regional High School

Congratulations to the recipient of the 2018 MIAA/MSTCA William J. Jennings Boys Outdoor Track Team Sportsmanship Award:

Martha's Vineyard Regional High School

Liaison - Keith McDermott, MIAA, Assistant Director

District A
Mr. Scott Young, Assistant Principal, North Reading High School
Mr. Tom Gallagher, Athletic Director, Ipswich High School

District B
Dr. Matthew Janger, Principal, Arlington High School
Mr. Tom Zaya, Athletic Director, Reading Memorial HS

District C
Dr. Jamie Chisum, Principal, Wellesley High School
Mr. Peter Rittenburg, Athletic Director, Brookline High School

District D
Mr. Chris Costa, Assistant Princiapl, Joseph Case HS (Swansea)
Mr. William Tilden, Athletic Director, Old Rochester Regional HS (Mattapoisett)

District E

Mr. Jeff Lizotte, Assistant Principal, Shrewsbury HS
Mr. Tim Johnson, Assistant Principal, Hopedale High School
Mr. Ben Benoit, Athletic Director, Parker Charter Essential School(Devens)
Mr. Mike McCaffrey, Athletic Director, Groton-Dunstable Regional High School

District F
Ms. Gina Johnson
, Athletic Director, Pioneer Valley Regional School (Northfield)
Mr. John Goda, Athletic Director, Pope Francis High School

District G
Mr. Jake Schultz, Assistant Principal, Mount Greylock Reg. H.S. (Williamstown)
Mr. Keith Thomson, Athletic Director, Lee Middle/High School

District H
Mr. Mike Nicholson, Assistant Principal, Xaverian Brothers HS (Westwood)
Mr. Joseph Stuart,
Athletic Director, Cristo Rey Boston (Dorchester)

Coaches' Representatives
Mr. James Hoar
Mr. Frank Mooney

Officials' Representatives
Mr. Chris Lane

Mr. Christopher Malone

Mr. Tassos Filledes

Ms. Amanda Alpert
Ms. Elizabeth Haygood
Mr. Joseph LeMar
Mr. Garcia Dalzon

  • July 18, 2018 - Sub-Committee Only - 9:00am
  • October 18, 2018 - Committee Meeting - 11:00am
  • February 28, 2019 - Committee Meeting - 11:00am
  • June 11, 2019 - Committee Meeting - 11:00am

**Tournament Directors will meet 90 minutes prior to each meeting in the resource room


Fall Tournament Directors - October 2, 2018 at 10:00am

Winter Tournament Directors - February 6, 2019 at 10:00am

Spring Tournament Directors - May 1, 2019 at 10:00am


 Indoor, Outdoor Track & Cross Country - Eastern MA Division I
Michael Meagher

Indoor & Outdoor Track - Eastern MA Division II
Rick Kates

Indoor & Outdoor Track - Eastern MA Division III
Irwin Cohen

Indoor & Outdoor Track - Eastern MA Division IV
Edward Hichborn

Outdoor Track - Central MA
Charles Butterfield

Outdoor Track & Cross Country - Western MA
Thomas Stewart

Cross Country - Central MA
Pete McCauliff

Copyright 2011 MIAA and its licensors.  All rights reserved.

33 Forge Parkway
Franklin, MA 02038

(p) 508-541-7997
(f) 508-541-9838

miaa AT miaa DOT net

Powered by allofe
AllofE Solutions